Chamber of Commerce Welcomes New Board Members

The Berrien County Chamber of Commerce announces its new board members taking office in 2017.  Taking positions with four year terms with the Chamber Board of Directors are: Charles Blewett of Lovein Funeral Home, Clayton Danforth of the Danforth Company, Caitlin Giddens of Ageless Creations, Col. Nick Lacey, US Air Force, retired and Jennifer McMillan of Southern Grace Farms.  The new members were elected by the Chamber membership.  Per the Chamber bylaws, the chairman of the board of directors selects four board members to serve a one-year term.  The 2017 Chamber Board Chairwoman is Faye Jernigan.  Jernigan selected John Black of Black and Sons Funeral Home, Faith Danforth of Famers and Merchants Bank, Charles Paulk of the Citizens Bank and Ty Schultz of the Bank of Alapaha to serve.
 “The Chamber welcomes its new members and is very appreciative of their willingness to serve the community in this capacity,” said Crissy Staley, executive director, Berrien County Chamber of Commerce.
Below is a complete list of Chamber Board Members:
Ann Baldree, Chaparral Boats
John Black, Black & Sons Funeral Home
Charles Blewett, Lovein Funeral Home
Lisa Carter, Harveys (secretary/treasurer)
Steve Conner, Dupont Pine Products
Michelle Cooper, Town of Enigma
Clayton Danforth, The Danforth Company (1st Vice-Chair)
Faith Danforth, Farmers & Merchants Bank
Rebecca Davis, AgGeorgia Farm Credit
Dr. Lilli Drawdy, Berrien County School System (2nd Vice-Chair)
Brenda Ferrell, Berrien County Commission
Caitlyn Giddens, Ageless Creations
Mayor Wayne Gulley, City of Ray City
Hayden Hancock, Atwater & Houston
Richard Huth, SGMC-Berrien Campus
Faye Jernigan, Jernigan’s Farm Supply (Chairwoman)
Col. Nick Lacey, United States Air Force, retired
Bo Lovein, Mike Burch Ford (Immediate Past Chairman)
Alonso Martinez, Puerta Del Sol
Jennifer McMillan, Southern Grace Farms
Charles Paulk, Citizens Bank
Deidra Powell, Town of Alapaha
Gregg Ray, Howard Ray Construction
Mayor Michael Richbourg, City of Nashville
Bill Tillman, Wiregrass Technical College
Kimberly Wood, Dixie Sales

For incoming Board members, their first act of business is to establish the 2017 goals for the Berrien County Chamber of Commerce.  The goals are listed below.

  • Continue to promote local shopping through the Buy Berrien initiative
    Recruit homegrown businesses & work to expand existing businesses
    Promote Berrien County’s agri-tourism attractions through the Georgia Grown Trail 37 Association, and other agri-tourism opportunities
    Host and participate in legislative events
    Continue to recruit new Chamber members with a goal of 250 members by the year’s end
    Host educational seminars/webinars that address the expressed needs of the membership
    Continue to support local educational goals of the Berrien County School System and partnerships with Wiregrass Georgia Technical College
    Participate in and support the South Georgia Military Affairs Committee and Moody Air Force Base
    Partner with local agencies and attractions to increase tourism activity by incorporating activities identified by the Tourism Product Development Team
    Coordinate a minimum of one membership activity per quarter
    Continue to host several annual community wide events and festivals focusing on increased attendance
    Work with the Southern Georgia Regional Commission to endorse and explore improving broadband service and availability in rural areas of Berrien and surrounding counties
    Promote the Rural Hospital Tax Credit Program
“The Berrien County Chamber of Commerce works daily to promote Berrien County as a great place to visit, live or launch a business,” said Faye Jernigan, Chairwoman Berrien County Chamber of Commerce.  “Local support is the key for the success not only the activities of the Chamber, but of our local businesses and economy.  Take full advantage of your local Chamber and get involved today.”